First time smoking cheese came out PERFECT, just wanted to share my cheap and easy approach!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Hauser

Original poster
Jul 7, 2018
I'm brand new to smoking (and the forums!) and started small yesterday with a 12" AMNTS, about half a pound of BBQr's Delight hickory pellets, my Napoleon P500 propane grill and a block of Balderson medium cheddar cut into 2"x2" logs, starting around 8am in 75F weather with zero wind.

I started up the AMNTS with my cigar lighter then put it on the grill and closed it up for a few minutes while I prepped the cheese and other goodies to smoke, when I came back out and opened up the grill it had a nice flame going so I blew it out and it started to smoke like a train! I put it at the back of the grill on top of the burners underneath the grill grates, added the food and walked away, checking on it every hour and hoping for about a 4 hour smoke.

ac831d9d-30b4-44e5-889f-b03c2f7d015a-jpeg.369807

Just after 3 hours I noticed the smoke had gone clear so I opened it up and found the pellets had caught fire - I basically cut the smoke short at that point as the flame was crisping up some of the food I had directly over top of it (next time I'll put the AMNTS under one of the grill's flavour bars so flame can never reach the food), but all in all I got 3 hours of very smoky hickory on my cheese.