First time -A bit confused

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

wibigfish

Original poster
Aug 27, 2020
I’ve done quite a bit of reading on this site, but am confused on a few things.

This is my first time doing bacon and I’m 7 days into the curing process on 13lbs of pork bellies (rindoff)

I ended up using eq dry brine method and vac sealed the bellies after they were rubbed down with the mixture.

I ended up using the .25% cure as suggested by the diggingdog calculator. However, I realized that this will give me 156ppm of nitrites. Reading the forums it appears that traditional dry cured would be max of 200ppm and wet brine would be 120ppm max.

I’m not sure if I overdid the cure amount given that what I am doing isn’t an actual traditional dry cure but more of a dry “brine”.

I may be overthinking this, but this is my first time with bacon and want to make sure I’m good. I usually stick to fish, but am looking to expand my horizons into meats.

I appreciate any help or input.

Matt

Thanks Ryan, I look forward to starting with bacon and working into other meats/sausages. It’s a bit intimidating the first go round for sure!
We've all been there! Don't get in a hurry, double check your measurements, and if ya have questions just ask...better to be safe. After curing take the belly and rinse it off, then I usually cut a slice or two out of the middle and do a fry test before smoking. If it's too salty soak it in cold water for awhile, can also change the water. If ya smoke it and its too salty your stuck with it.

Ryan