First smoke with a Char-Griller Akorn, 5lb pork butt and a few sausages.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

cjp87

Original poster
Aug 24, 2010
Hi all, this is my first time back in a long time. I feel bad about my last time here (two years ago) when I tried to show off a smoker build (http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/t/98436/big-blue-egg-finished-build-of-the-19-flower-pot-smoker) then disappeared after I never got it to work right. It's still sitting in my garage, but for some reason I could never keep the coals lit about 180 or so. I think the colander I used choked them out, and grad school took over all my time for troubleshooting (and my budget for buying).