First smoke - Beef Short Ribs

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

SmokingScotsman

Original poster
Apr 23, 2018
file.jpeg file1.jpeg file2.jpeg file3.jpeg file4.jpeg file5.jpeg file6.jpeg Hello everyone,

I am a novice smoker from Scotland and have just completed my first smoke this weekend so wanted to send some pictures and see what people thought, and also ask some questions based on my first experience. I fell in love with BBQ on a recent trip to the Southern States of America, in particular Franklin's in Austin (other good BBQ is available).

I've always fancied trying it out for myself and after a recent house move which incorporates a good size garden, I got myself a Weber Smoker.

I chose beef ribs as my first smoke and got a 5 1/2 lbs set of short ribs from a local butcher and seasoned with some black pepper, salt, paprika, onion salt and garlic (see pictures). They were still on the bone but not as a rack.

It was my first time using my Weber Smokey Mountain (18inch) and it was quite challenging. I started off with some hot coals in my chimeny starter (4kgs of briquettes) - I think this is where I went wrong and should have had more coals for a longer cook?

I used majority oak wood and a little apple as well (see pictures) - Again I think I made a mistake by possibly putting the wood on a little early and probably too much of it? (see pictures).