Could use some help here

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

atlsteve

Original poster
Apr 6, 2010
Atlanta, GA
I sure am happy to have found this site. I could use some help.

Help!!! I have many questions about smoking meat
I'm totally new to this.
I'm having a guys weekend and there is a pig smoker on the land. This is basically a cinder block 4 walled above ground box. its about waist high and the inside of the walls are lined with aluminum foil. I'd say it is about 4 ft high, 5ft wide, and 3-4 ft across.
It was explained to me that it is best to put a "handful" of charcoal in each of the 4 corners, let them get red hot, then put some soaked wood chips on top.
Sound right so far?
There is a grate recessed about 1-2 feet from the top where one could place a pig. I'd like to cook ribs and boston butt rather than a pig. There is some sheet metal that goes across the top of the pit. Also, there are two red bricks on either side which can be removed or rearranged to control the airflow into the pit.
I've done some reading and it looks like I should add a pan with some water(or beer…or apple juice) on the floor of the pit right under the meat. Also, it looks like I want to get the pit to about 250 degrees and then pull the meat once the temp of the meat reaches 190-195. Does this sound right?
Any help is appreciated.
Thanks so much!!!

I would think that you would need more than a handful in each corner.That large of a pit should need alot more fuel.

But the charcoal in the 4 corners and the temps I've researched seem correct?

Am I thinking about this all wrong if I assume that I could put a lot of charcoal in the corners and then just regulate them via the 2 removable bricks by blocking the holes or opening them?