cottonwood for smoking?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by redneck1676, Jul 16, 2013.

1. Had anyone ever used Cottonwood in their smoker? I just picked up a load for the fire pit, but wasn't sure about using it in the smoker. What do ya think?

2. jeoberg

jeoberg Smoke Blower

Doesn't burn hot and the smoke stinks. At least that is my experience.

3. Yeah I wasn't sure about it. Its real green so I figured ask the experts. straight to the burn pile for it then. Thanks

4. dutch

dutch Smoking Guru Staff Member Administrator Group Lead OTBS Member SMF Premier Member

I don't even use it for camp fires. Like jeoburg said, "it stinks"~to me it smells like someone pee'd in a fire (I'm a veteran Scouter~I know these things). Just imagine what your food would taste like!

5. the fact that that smell is burnt into your memory is disturbing....lol. it mustve been bad. lol. funny but bad.

6. Well if smell like that when you burn it anybody want a mess of cottonwood. Lol

7. jrod62

jrod62 Smoking Guru Group Lead OTBS Member

I wish it was good to burn. I would never have to buy wood chunks again . my cottonwood tree is a monster. By far the biggest tree in town.

8. jeoberg

jeoberg Smoke Blower

For what it is worth, cottonwood also takes a long time to dry (up to two years) and will sometimes rot before it dries. Smell isn't quite so bad when fully dried.

9. mr t 59874

mr t 59874 Master of the Pit SMF Premier Member

10. dutch

dutch Smoking Guru Staff Member Administrator Group Lead OTBS Member SMF Premier Member

With about 17 years as a Scoutmaster under my belt, that means a lot of overnight and summer camps with a lot of new Scouts getting the ol' double dog dare ya to pee in the fire" from the older scouts.

11. haha. classic!

12. foamheart

foamheart Smoking Guru OTBS Member SMF Premier Member