Cabinet electric smoker build

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

AlexTram

Original poster
Jul 29, 2019
Hi guys, new to the community and joined because I building a cabinet smoker for hot smoking salmon and as I'm pretty new to smoking want to ask for your advice, opinions and suggestions.

I got 3 stainless steel thermal panels for free and made a design to make the most of them without wasting much.
So the cabinet is something like this:
upload_2019-7-29_22-10-4.png
f87e5365-e2ba-4c23-a814-66a3117edfaf

The inside design at the moment is something like this:
upload_2019-7-29_22-12-41.png

I'll do everything modular so I can take everything apart to deep clean.
The heating elements are two 2,5kw home oven replacement parts, which will be controlled by a PID and a contactor.
As in my country it is not easy to find good chips, or pellets, I need to use chunks, so the idea is to put them directly over the heating elements, over a perforated tray or rack.
Problem here is that i'm not sure if the "ON" time of the elements (once it is in temperature) will be enough to keep a good amount of smoke.. ??

I'm not very sure about air intake/ chimney /air flow. By logic I shouldn't have much air flow because the O2 would light the wood on fire, right? But I guess some air flow must exist to "renew" the smoke...
As for the chimneys I was planning to do two 5cm (2 inch) chimneys with air flow control, is that ok?

This is a work in progress, so I'll keep updating and all your comments are much appreciated.

Attachments

• upload_2019-7-29_22-16-32.png
    upload_2019-7-29_22-16-32.png
    177.6 KB · Views: 312
I can't help you very much, but I'll be following along.
Where are you from Alex?