Brining bacon in a bag?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

fungus

Fire Starter
Original poster
Sep 23, 2014
Hi I'm a newbie trying to make bacon.

I see recipes for brine mixes. Most seem to advise big-ass buckets. I do not have a dedicated refrigerator for this purpose.

If I decide to use zip-lock bags or some other bag for the brine, is there any ratio I need to keep in mind. I assume that the brine become diluted with the juices from the meat and it would follow that more brine equals less dilution. 

questions:

Does the dilution of the brine make a difference to the end result?

What is the smallest amount of brine that can be SAFELY used to brine a slab of pork belly?

Can it be done in bags?

Thanks, 

Gus

I don't have 100% tested answers, but I'm in to find out them from the more enlightened bacon makers. This would be a great way for me to get this done in my fridge inside instead of taking up a bunch of space in the outside fridge.

My logical answers though are that it's perfectly fine as long as the bag is being flipped everyday. The brine won't dilute. The curing process will pull out juices, but those aren't supposed to be drained each day because those juices contain the cure itself. Finally, as long as the piece of meat is submerged in the brine, then you've got enough brine.

Now I'll let the intelligent people talk....

th_dunno-1%5B1%5D.gif