Brining Bacon 911

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

wallpe

Original poster
Jan 18, 2019
Good morning all. I am new to Smoking Meat Forums. I have been smoking meats and dry curing bacon now for the past year. I had a request from a friend for Pickle Flavored Bacon. I took the pork belly (2.5 lbs) and rubbed with kosher salt and 1 tsp. of pink curing salt (Prague Powder No. 1) and then submerged the belly into pickle juice to brine. This is an experiment and I may need to scrap the idea. Two questions, (1) Am I going about curing/brining the belly the right way, and (2) If so, how long do I let it soak before smoking? Look forward to hearing wht you have to say. Be brutally honest with comments. I will not take offense as I am wanting to learn this art form.

Well, I'm new at this, too. But what I've seen is 1 tsp of cure for 5 pounds of meat. So, by weight, you are at double the usually recommended amount of cure. Any reason for that?
But I don't dry measure anymore, I weigh so I get a more accurate ratio.
Maybe if you were to inject the pickle juice, which often is spiced up vinegar and water anyway.
Sounds pretty strange to me. But so did pickle slices and eggs, till I tried it.
Silly Dilly Bacon. Relish Rubbed Bacon. :emoji_rolling_eyes::emoji_yum:

Last edited:
I'm curious how this goes..

I've only done wet curing once, and I kept the ham I did submerged for 18 days, this is the sole help I can offer, but I look forward to knowing how it works out..because..I..might try it.

Just want to welcome you to the site Wallpe. Pickle flavored bacon however doesn't sound all that appealing to me. Good luck and let us know how it turns out.

Chris