Brick smoker and pizza oven 2 in 1?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

puravida

Original poster
Jan 5, 2013
Costa Rica
Hi all,

- This is my first time participating in this forum.. So glad I found it!

Here is a question I hope someone can help me with.

I'm about to finish building a BBQ place \ area in my backyard, and now it's time for me to build my brick smoker within it.  If it was my call only, it would be a nice brick smoker with a grill next to it and that's it.. yet my wife thinks it would be great that we build a pizza oven.  Can anyone recommend a design that would combine a brick smoker and an oven?

Help will be appreciated.

I am not a brick smoker guy, my smokers are of the steel variety, but I would imagine that the design could be something like this. Very bottom is fire place. Above that is the Pizza oven, but have it bricked so that no smoke comes in this chamber. Above that is the smoking chamber where you allow the smoke to be released and chimnyed out the top.

The one on the top is the side view. And I drew this so the smoker is standing vertically, not horizontally. However, I suppose you could build it either way you wanted. But look at this with your head turned sideways.
help.gif

I have built a woodfired oven

Did a fair bit of research at the time. I am no expert but it seems a bit of a conflict of interest to try to get them in the one structure. Dont let that stop you! Is there some way to make a seperate chamber with a vent that would allow to run the woodfire in one then channel the heat & smoke up or sideways into chamber 2?