Bought a Masterbuilt MDS 230S Dual Fuel Smoker and have a few questions

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

MeltedBrain

Original poster
May 20, 2020
Hey all, new to these forums but ive been smoking on an electric masterbuilt smoker for about a year until it randomly quit the bed on sunday. I smoke almost every weekend and usually have great results. Ive always just smoked at 225 on the electric smoker. Today I bought a masterbuilt mds 230 s dual fuel smoker and just seasoned it. I have a few questions though about it as im totally new to gas smoking.

It has 3 vents, two at the side/bottom where the chips are located, and one on the top in the back. My assumption is to keep these all open at all times? I only had one on the electric smoker and was advised to keep it open at all times, so I did. I honestly have no clue what the best course of action is for these vents.

l also read about putting a cast iron pan on top the chip trap for better results. I tried both ways and it seems that the skillet is definitely the way to go. I only have wood chips right now but will get some chunks, as the chips seem to burn through extremely fast. I also noticed that they catch on fire even on the cast iron skillet 50% of the time. I had that cold smoker box attachment for my electric smoker, which put out a ton of smoke, mostly because the chips would catch fire in it. I almost felt like it was too much smoke.