• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

AMNPS in the Smokin-It # 3, Hot Smoke

smoke happens

Smoking Fanatic
521
37
Joined Nov 20, 2012
Lots of discussion on using the AMNPS in the Smokin-It # 3 (SI3), or any of the SI smokers for that matter due to how tight they are. So far I have not had any issues doing a cold smoke with the AMNPS or a hot smoke with an empty smoker during test runs, until last night.

I put on a 9lb butt at 11:30 last night, used a mixture of Cherry and Bourbon barrel pellets nuked for 1 minute prior to loading. I put the AMNPS towards the front of the smoker where the drain hole is, on the right side of the chip box, being sure to poke the foil at the drain hole. I placed the butt on the left side of smoker to prevent it from dripping onto the pellets. All was well and off to bed I went.

Here is the setup, AMNPS and butt placement


At 6:30 this morning, this is what I saw




Looking at the burn, I'm guessing I got somewhere around 3 to 3.5 hours of smoke in the 7 hour period it was unattended. The pellets rounded the corner and fizzled out. I think it was further from the element and drain hole where it breathes from, causing it to go out. I did not have this problem with an empty smoker, so there must be just enough humidity from the steam coming off the butt to make the environment unsurvivable for the pellets as they burn into the 2nd row. You can also see here where I folded the foil up on the right side of the chip tray to act as a gutter to direct the juices away from the AMNPS. That worked well, when I looked over the pellets there was no drippings on the unburned pellets. I added 2 chunks of hickory when I saw this to the chip box for the remainder of the cook.

So now I need to decide weather I should drill a hole or 2 in the bottom of the SI3 or just hot smoke with chunks moving forward. I'll need to do some research on that, if you have done the drilling mods on a Smokin-It please chime in.
 

old sarge

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
2,718
532
Joined Nov 26, 2012
It does seem better the next day. 
 

capntrip

Smoking Fanatic
339
14
Joined Jan 10, 2012
I can't keep my amns going in my smokin-it model 1 there just isn't enough air in the smoker so when I cold smoke I do it in my weber kettle
 

streaml1ne

Newbie
19
10
Joined Mar 11, 2013
Maybe the jerky fan on a low setting could draw in enough air through the drain hole to keep it going?
 

smoke happens

Smoking Fanatic
521
37
Joined Nov 20, 2012
Possibly, just wonder if it will draw too much smoke out though and not leave enough in for flavor. I am still on the fence with drilling it, for now I just use chunk and it's all good.
 

old sarge

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
2,718
532
Joined Nov 26, 2012
I'm not sure I would drill a hole just to use the AMNPS unless the smoker, as is, cannot or will not produce smoke as designed; or for cold smoking if you cannot get good results with a cold smoke plate and a roasting pan full of ice.   If you get good food without the AMNPS, is it worth the trouble?
 

streaml1ne

Newbie
19
10
Joined Mar 11, 2013
At this rate just call/email Steve and see what he says? When you're laying down foil are you just poking a pin hole, or making a hole the size of the drain hole? I just got my #2 and the drain hole is bigger than I thought it would be. I hadn't seen any pictures of it prior, and based on what people were saying here, I expected this tiny little hole. Mine's maybe 3/8" or so. Maybe the hole in the foil isn't big enough. *shrug*
 
Last edited:

capntrip

Smoking Fanatic
339
14
Joined Jan 10, 2012
I believe I read somewhere to run an aquarim pump but I would think it would be for cold smoking
 

once a marine

Newbie
28
10
Joined Sep 4, 2012
I always put my AMNTS on a rack just above the burner housing, and it burns evenly/thoroughly in the #2. Maybe trying that with the AMNPS might give it more "access" (per se) to the available oxygen in the box?
 

once a marine

Newbie
28
10
Joined Sep 4, 2012
It's not necessary with the Smokin-IT. I use the tube/pellets since I had originally purchased the tube for use with my propane smoker, and I grew to like the Pitmaster's Blend pellets, so I just continued to use them with my Smokin-IT.
 

Latest posts

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.