• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

A-Maze-N-Smoker sawdust

hilltopper

Newbie
10
10
Joined Jan 17, 2010
I have tried to put regular hickory sawdust in the smoker and sometimes it will work and sometimes it will light and only burn for a really short time (5 or 10 minutes) and just go out.  Anybody have any suggestions.  I know the dust isn't that expensive but I have a supply local and it is a shame to pay uncle sam the shipping and not use local resources.  Any help would be appreciated by not only  me but I am sure there are others in the same boat. 
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
34,747
8,201
Joined Sep 12, 2009
It has to be the right consistency.

The right percentage of dust & small chips.

If it's from a cabinet shop, it would best be from the Radial saw, Miter saw, or Table saw.

It would have to be from a hard wood, because soft wood dust would generally be too fluffy, but you wouldn't want to use soft wood anyway.

Planer & shaper chips would be too big. Jointer produces chips too much like shavings.

Any kind of sander (Wide belt, Drum, Belt, Spindle, and Edge sander) puts out a dust much too fine.

Todd (A-MAZE-N-SMOKER) has special expensive pieces of equipment to make his "dust" just right.

Hope that helps,

Bearcarver
 

nwdave

Master of the Pit
SMF Premier Member
1,590
20
Joined Dec 9, 2009
And another consideration is dryness of the dust.  You don't say where you live, but out here on the Wet side of the Mountains in Washington State I'm always fighting the moisture content of my dust.  I have to stick the dust in the microwave for a minute or so to dry it out, then it works just fine.  It's the humidity that's killing me.  I even store the dust in capped plastic jugs, but still.  At least I know the source of the problem.
 

deltadude

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
1,529
35
Joined Jun 3, 2008
I have been using Oak dust, which came from me cutting over sized firewood in the garage with an electric chainsaw.  I have a big box of dust, and the chip size is perfect for the AMNS, my electric chainsaw is a 14" chain.  I wish I had hickory, because I think the Oak leaves a heavier smoke taste and the hickory seems to have a more pleasant smoke flavor.
 

scarbelly

Epic Pitmaster
OTBS Member
14,319
71
Joined Jul 26, 2009
I would be carefull using sawdust from a chainsaw due to the oil on the chain. My guess is the sawdust you have is too moist. You can put it on a cookie sheet and dry it out in the oven or as suggested by Dave, use the microwave to dry it out some
 

tjohnson

Smoking Guru
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Insider
5,602
136
Joined Dec 29, 2009
I have tried to put regular hickory sawdust in the smoker and sometimes it will work and sometimes it will light and only burn for a really short time (5 or 10 minutes) and just go out.  Anybody have any suggestions.  I know the dust isn't that expensive but I have a supply local and it is a shame to pay uncle sam the shipping and not use local resources.  Any help would be appreciated by not only  me but I am sure there are others in the same boat. 
Hilltopper,

How fine or coarse is the sawdust you are using?  Is it from a miter saw or table saw, or is it 1/8" x 1/8" chips used in commercial smokers and found at your local butcher supply?

If you're using fine sawdust, then it's most likely the moisture in the sawdust that's affecting the burning. \

NWDave nukes his sawdust every time he uses it, because it guarantees the moisture level is low, when he uses his AMNS.  Guys that live in dry climate don't have the same moisture issues we do.

I PM'd you.

Todd
 

tjohnson

Smoking Guru
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Insider
5,602
136
Joined Dec 29, 2009
I would be carefull using sawdust from a chainsaw due to the oil on the chain. My guess is the sawdust you have is too moist. You can put it on a cookie sheet and dry it out in the oven or as suggested by Dave, use the microwave to dry it out some

Scar is 100% correct about the bar oil from a chainsaw.  I got a load of hickory sawdust from a supplier that smelled so nasty, I could not use it.  He usually uses "Vegetable Oil" in his firewood processor, but his helper put regular "Bar Oil" in it" instead....Big OOPS!

Hope this helps!

Todd
 

bobbygee

Smoke Blower
140
10
Joined May 10, 2010
Hey Hilltopper,

  I had issues like that aswell..and my problem was due to lack of air..I drilled out the 3 holes in the chip loader to 1/2" and adjusted my door latch so it isn't air tight..Works like a champ..I smoked some "Death Nuts" yesterday using the AMZN.Almonds coated with oil,sprinkled with  my dry rub and powdered ghost peppers.Turned out nice and smokey.   
I have tried to put regular hickory sawdust in the smoker and sometimes it will work and sometimes it will light and only burn for a really short time (5 or 10 minutes) and just go out.  Anybody have any suggestions.  I know the dust isn't that expensive but I have a supply local and it is a shame to pay uncle sam the shipping and not use local resources.  Any help would be appreciated by not only  me but I am sure there are others in the same boat. 
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
34,747
8,201
Joined Sep 12, 2009
Scar is 100% correct about the bar oil from a chainsaw.  I got a load of hickory sawdust from a supplier that smelled so nasty, I could not use it.  He usually uses "Vegetable Oil" in his firewood processor, but his helper put regular "Bar Oil" in it" instead....Big OOPS!

Hope this helps!

Todd
Correctamundo,

Guys that go into most State & National Parks are required to use veggie oil in their chain oil reservoir when getting logs for chainsaw carving (and/or firewood).
 

tjohnson

Smoking Guru
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Insider
5,602
136
Joined Dec 29, 2009
Hey Hilltopper,

  I had issues like that aswell..and my problem was due to lack of air..I drilled out the 3 holes in the chip loader to 1/2" and adjusted my door latch so it isn't air tight..Works like a champ.

Hey Bobby!

Forgot about our little MOD to the air holes.  I also drilled my intake holes to 1/2" to get more air in the smoker.  You'll notice the AMNS takes off a little when you open the door.  This is because the oxygen is low in the smoker, and when you open the door, it starts to breath again.  You may also notice a difference if ther is a slight wind blowing.  This also cause the smoker to draft better.

When the heat is on, fresh air is drawn into the smoker thru the intake holes when heat rises thru the exhaust.  When the heat is off, oxygen can be used up in about an hour.  Some guys just open the smoker door to fill the box with fresh air after about an hour or so.

Air = GOOD!

Todd
 
Last edited:

texacajun

Meat Mopper
236
17
Joined Feb 23, 2010
Correctamundo,

Guys that go into most State & National Parks are required to use veggie oil in their chain oil reservoir when getting logs for chainsaw carving (and/or firewood).
I had no idea i could use veggie oil in to replace bar oil in my chain saw. Thank good info.
 

dale5351

Smoking Fanatic
456
14
Joined Jun 20, 2010
  I had issues like that aswell..and my problem was due to lack of air..I drilled out the 3 holes in the chip loader to 1/2" and adjusted my door latch so it isn't air tight.
 
Wouldn't it work just as well to turn the chip loader and pull it out a little bit?  I think that Todd made that recommendation in a thread somewhere.

 
 

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying! (But that's how we keep the lights on.)

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks