Wanting to make some Lockhart style C-Link sausage

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Dustin Dorsey

Meat Mopper
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Sep 25, 2016
Burkburnett, Tx
I've been making sausage for 5 or 6 years now as an extension of my barbecue hobby. I make a Texas style Hot Guts sausage and the Lockhart style is very similar. From what I understand it's salt, black pepper, cayenne. From what I've read they used Bull Meat Binder as well, or at least they used to. I picked up from Bull binder from these guys:

Where I'm torn is whether or not to used Cure#1. I typically do, but I'm not sure that Kreuz and Smitty's do. I think they just hot smoke the sausage and so the cure is not necessary. The other question I have is that they seem to use butcher's twine to tie the links in to that "C" shape. Does anyone have any insight as to how to do this? A special knot or anything? I saw a Chud's BBQ video where he made a similar sausage and he just tied it off with the casing. I'm going for more authentic if possible.

I found a video with an old timer using half-hitch knots. A butcher's knot would only tie one side. Here's a link to an article in Texas Monthly talking about different sausages in Central Texas by Daniel Vaughn.

I think I'm going to go with all beef even though Kreuz does 85% beef 15% pork. Blacks seems to use all beef with the bull binder. I'm leaning that way. I'm not seeing where anyone uses cure #1. As much as I prefer cured I think I gotta go fresh for this one.

I made the sausage this weekend. I didn't use cure and I cooked it at barbecue temps.

20240127_122453.jpg

I used a hunk of flat and some brisket fat I had in the freezer.
20240127_135808.jpg