Venison Sausage - Best smoking technique and drying properly?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

macdaddy21

Original poster
Dec 27, 2012
I've been making venison sausage for several years now with a friend and his family, but was never there when they smoked it. This last year my dad and I built a smokehouse out of a 6x8 shed and added some racks made out of 2x4's with dowel rods (2x2's) to hang the sausage on. Long story short, everything worked fine, but we over smoked the sausage and it turned out tasting like wood. Definitely a mistake I will not make again. But, I wanted to ask how other members here smoke their venison, provided they use a smokehouse similar to mine. My smoke source that I used last year was a steel barrel that sat below ground with a 4" pipe leading up to the smoke house that had a baffle inside it to control how much smoke entered the house. The system worked and the smoke was cold, but we let it smoke for way too long. However, this year I want to try a different method of smoke application, so I am here for suggestions.

I would like to give a little background on how we make our sausage. Please feel free to critique anything I have done. I am here to learn!

We like to make some sausage that we smoke a little and then vac seal and freeze, that we can later grill or pan fry, etc. For this sausage we use a 40/60 or a 50/50 pork to venison ratio. Mixed with seasoning/cure and ground, then stuffed and tied. Last year we over smoked this, but this year I only want to smoke it for a few hours to give it some smoke flavor, then seal it and freeze.