The 11 Commandments of Smoking

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

netbbq

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Oct 28, 2012
Northeast TN
I've been smoking for a couple of months now and a bit obsessed with it.  I have surfed this forum extensively to ensure I can turn out the best meals I can on my MES 30.  

I came up with the following 11 Commandments that apply to my MES and are generally appropriate for all smokers.  I'm sure there are more.  

As a fairly new smoker, I try to remember the critical things to maximize the quality of what I am preparing.  If I missed something of significance, please feel free to share with the rest of us.
  1. Thou shalt cook low and slow
  2. Thou shalt covet TBS
  3. Thou shalt cook to IT (Internal Temperature) not time
  4. Thou shalt reach 140 degrees within 4 hours
  5. Thou shalt NOT probe before 2 hours
  6. Thou shalt seriously consider purchasing an A-Maze-N Pellet Smoker
  7. If thou shalt fail, thou shalt try, try and try again (after searching this forum)
  8. Thou shalt NOT peek
  9. Thou shalt leave vent WIDE OPEN
  10. Thou shalt covet thy neighbor's smoker
  11. Thou MUST post Q-VIEWS!
NETBBQ

Found this post a while back and have it on the front of my smokin log.  Sorry I don't know how to connect so will just copy it over.

BURKSMOKE
  • Trader Feedback:0
  • badge_otbsmember.v1353970028.png
  •