Whats the highest (air ) temperature you could cold smoke bacon at?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

atomicsmoke

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
Apr 3, 2014
Toronto, Canada
I am not experienced with cold smoking in warm weather. I do all my cold smoking Nov-April.
But i got a cured loin ready to smoke (cold). Temps will stay below 15C tonight until early morning. Safe to go at it?

I cold smoked bacon the other day and it was in 80s. Smoker was under cover and out of sunlight. I used an aluminum pan filled with ice and rock salt with another pan full of ice and salt on top of that. Placed a wire rack on that and put bacon on. It stayed cold the whole 6hr

That is a perfect temp. You just want to keep the CC below 90 F. If it starts to approach 90, then I would put a couple of frozen milk jugs in there to cool it down. When we make Canadian bacon we always hot smoke it to an IT of 140. That way you can just nuke it for 10 seconds & it’s ready to eat.
Al

Thank you guys. I forgot about the trick of cooling the CC with ice. High temps is usually not a concern when i cold smoke. Keeping the meat from freezing is.

Is there a temp that is too low for smoking? Say it is 45° F, is that too low?
If u don't have a draft you will get stale smoke and bad flavor from it.
So ensure that no matter that temp u cold smoke that you get create or have sufficient draft and oxygen flow :)

If u don't have a draft you will get stale smoke and bad flavor from it.
So ensure that no matter that temp u cold smoke that you get create or have sufficient draft and oxygen flow :)