Welding Question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

haydenfox

Fire Starter
Original poster
Feb 6, 2011
Tampa, FL
I have no experience welding but figured I would give it a shot. I'd like to run a few beads to fill some gaps and seal some leaks. I'm also going to use angle bar to put "rails" in the CC for diffusion plates and a baffle. Since the CC is a thin oil drum and the angle bar is much heavier how can I go about doing this without burning holes in the drum? I'll be using a MIG welder since it seems to be the easiest for a newbie. TIA

Gonna be hard for a newbie to weld thick material to sheetmetal. You will blow thru that sheetmetal and wish you never tried it. can you drill holes and use bolts instead? Then later, when you have become a good welder, you can come back and fill in those holes.

Reactions: SonnyE
Gonna be hard for a newbie to weld thick material to sheetmetal. You will blow thru that sheetmetal and wish you never tried it. can you drill holes and use bolts instead? Then later, when you have become a good welder, you can come back and fill in those holes.

Probably could for the rails.

I agree to concentrate on the thicker metal and then jump over to the thinner gauge for a quick wire spit. Practice, practice, practice, before you go for it. I assume your miggy has adjustable wire speed? Have good clean grounding spots for your miggy's grounding cable. Speaking of......today I was welding up a battery hold down bracket for my '50 chebbie truck. It's been awhile since I welded last and it showed big time. Oh well, no one will see the finished product.
:eek::eek::eek:

"Drill 3/8"-1/2" holes in the drum and plug weld to the angle."