1. Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Traeger Quality Control - going downhill?

Discussion in 'Pellet Smokers' started by Colorado3G, Feb 24, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Colorado3G

Colorado3G Newbie

I'm a newbie here, used to be over on Pelletheads and I've owned a Traeger Texas for 8+ years and upgraded after a house move to a new Pro 34. So far that was a huge mistake! Has Traeger quality gone downhill? Wonder what new owners are experiencing?

My new grill takes twice as long to cook anything than the Texas did and I average 30-40d temp swings. Chicken Breast on 350 takes 80-90 minutes (50-60d outside). I've already replaced the temp probe and controller under warranty with no change (dealer). I then contacted Traeger direct and they didn't even read my email - just sent me their standard check this and that (like they didn't even care) which had nothing to do with the problem. After a nasty email - they have now sent me an entire new burner assembly and full box unit - guess what.....that arrived broken with the Auger motor off and broken cotter pin.....shipping box was in perfect condition....so just really bad quality control.....it's like they just don't care!

Although I saw they have a brand new model at my dealer (which isn't even on the Traeger website yet or announced) - I'm wondering if I should just try to get a refund for this piece of junk or try to get them to swap out for the new grill (maybe it's better). I doubt they will....just wondering if others have experienced bad QC.

2. Colorado3G

Colorado3G Newbie