Traeger: all smoke, no heat

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

johnmeyer

Master of the Pit
Original poster
Nov 19, 2015
Central Coast, CA
I spent the holiday with my wife's new in-laws who have a Traeger (similar to a BBQ075). The mom says that the Traeger didn't work. I offered to fix it, since I'm an engineer and arrogantly think I can fix anything.

I inspected it, then turned it on, and in a few seconds was getting huge amounts of smoke from the chimney. I've never seen that much smoke in my life, especially from a Traeger which, in the demos I've seen at the local hardware store, often puts out almost no smoke.

I waited for five minutes and then had her take a look. She said, "that's the problem: it smokes, but it doesn't get hot." I opened the smoker lid and sure enough, it was dead cold, and the temperature gauge, even after five minutes, showed a reading not far above ambient.

I took it apart far enough to see the two fans, and then took everything out of the fire box so I could see the firepot.

Here's the key thing: the firepot was filled to the brim, and there were unburned chips on the bottom of the smoker.

I emptied the firepot, threw the smouldering chips in a water bucket, and then went through the instructions for the initial lighting. Everything checks out:
  1. The ignitor works (obviously, or I wouldn't have gotten smoke)
  2. Both fans were spinning fast
  3. The holes leading into the firebox were clear and unobstructed and I could feel a LOT of air coming through
  4. The auger was delivering chips (again, not surprising given that the firepot was filled to the brim, and then some).