• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Taylor Dual Digital Remote Thermometer

monty

Master of the Pit
Moderator
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
2,370
11
Joined Jul 17, 2005
I have an opportunity to pick up Taylor remote dual digital meat thermometers for very short money, $14.99 each. Features a stainless steel probe, internal/external temperature and a timer with alarm for both time and internal temp.
Anybody have any experience with this particular thermometer?
Monty
 

bob-bqn

Smoking Fanatic
OTBS Member
674
10
Joined Aug 5, 2005
That's cheap for a dual probe. All my probes are Tru-Temp and I haven't heard good or bad about Taylor remote probes.
 

monty

Master of the Pit
Moderator
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
2,370
11
Joined Jul 17, 2005
Thanks for the response, Bob. I picked one up today and then was given a slip for a five buck mail in rebate on top of the bargain. WOW! Till I got home......
The "Dual Temp" meant that it displayed the actual internal temp and the alarm point for internal temp; NOT ambient temp in the smoker. Oh, well,,,, a digital thermometer for $9.99 is hard to beat. I will probably give it a try this weekend.
Monty
 

soflaquer

Smoking Fanatic
OTBS Member
532
82
Joined Jul 3, 2005
Sir Monty,

Taylor does make a good Digital Thermo, so..........You done well, Kid!

Out of curiosity, where'd you pick it up at that price? I've got a few that are about ready for the Thermo Burial Ground! LOL!

Jeff
 

willkat98

Smoking Fanatic
OTBS Member
488
11
Joined Aug 11, 2005
I am, by definition, lazy.

I have a set of Nu-Temp dual remotes that work quite well.

But I like to sit my arse in front of the TV and the remote signal gets jammed in that area of the house.

So can anyone tell me, does the Taylor, Nu Temp, TruTemp, etc have a receiver that will work with 801.x wireless networks.

I want to be able to sit at my lap top, typing to you all, and check the temp right on the screen.

Is this wrong?
 

Dutch

Smoking Guru
Staff member
Administrator
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
OTBS Admin
Group Lead
7,026
196
Joined Jul 7, 2005
Chi Bill, Nothing wrong in wanting the comforts of home around you while keeping an eye on the smoker temp. I just installed a wireless keyboard and mouse on my home 'puter (part of my recent XP upgrade :D ) and I had my remote unit on the desk while I was posting the other day. I didn't notice anything out of the ordinary but I'm not that familier with wireless laptops-sorry this ol' country boy ain't that sophisticated-YET!! :mrgreen:
 

willkat98

Smoking Fanatic
OTBS Member
488
11
Joined Aug 11, 2005
The problem is the range. When I sit on the couch, I'm about 5 feet too far from the patio for the remote to work.

I learned this the hard way.

I sat there, amazed for over an hour that I had the smoker pegged at 215*, just where I wanted. Picked up the base unit, walked into the kitchen (in range) and got a 330* reading.

Yikes!!

Got her back down, but 45 minutes at that temp seared the stuff and stopped all smoke penetration.

I'll keep searching. Thanks Earl
 

monty

Master of the Pit
Moderator
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
2,370
11
Joined Jul 17, 2005
Florida Bill, check out your local true Value Hardware store. Thermoneter lists for $19.99, on sale for 14.99 and with a $5 mail in rebate it ends up at $9.99. I picked up two (the limit).
Chi Bill, I do not believe that the interface has been built for your application yet. But give some pimple faced youg buck with a yearning for smoking the remote way and thought seed and it will happen!
Best O' luck, All!
Monty
 

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.