• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Stupid question about lump & chimney use...

woody

Smoke Blower
82
10
Joined Jul 25, 2006
Alright.

I said it was a stupid question, but here I go anyways.

When I use (gasp) briquets in my chimney, common wisdom says don't put 'em in until they ash over. Right? Also, they pretty much hold their shape while they burn in the chimney.

When I use lump & get it started, I fill the chimney to the brim, but...here we get to my questions....

1) when do I put 'em in? After they've ashed over? When they're reduced to coals? While they're still burning?

2) Also, is there anything I can do to positively affect the volume of lump embers? I fill the thing up, but 20-25 minutes in the thing is like 2/3rds full after it's been burning a while. (Oh, and I've been using cowboy charcoal).

Help. Thanks.
 

smokemack

Smoking Fanatic
OTBS Member
331
10
Joined Jul 21, 2006
I use Royal Oak (lump). I let mine flame up inside of the chimney. When the flame dies down, and I can see the top just begining to ash, I dump it. Works for me. When I use charcoal, it's Kingsford. I wait for complete "ash-over" in that case.
 

buzzard

Smoking Fanatic
OTBS Member
477
11
Joined Jan 23, 2006
thats how i do it to, but just after trial and error. but since i learned about lump i prety much quit using briquets unless im low on lump.

at first i would let it all get the ash but ran into the same think you were. it was mostly gone by the time i thought it was ready. sometimes i will just fill it half full and put more in later as i need.
 

Dutch

Smoking Guru
Staff member
Administrator
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
OTBS Admin
Group Lead
7,024
195
Joined Jul 7, 2005
woody, JMack and Buzzard, gave you some good info on using lump and briquettes, so I won't add anything to their comments.

In this forum, THERE ARE NO DUMB QUESTIONS-except for the ones you DON'T ask. This forum is for learning and sharing, and we can't share what we know if we don't get asked.
 

icemn62

Smoking Fanatic
OTBS Member
489
10
Joined Jun 20, 2006
The reason the chimney seems to empty while the lump is burning is the same reason houses settle when burning. I myself is useing lump, will fill the chimney, lite it, and wait 30 min. That seems to be 1 of the only things I do by the clock. start the fire wait 30 mins, dump on the grates. that formula is for lump kingsford, whatever I am going to use, including a mix of the two.

Not a dumb question. A dumb question will be "Do you want a cold one?
 

riz9

Smoke Blower
90
10
Joined Jul 12, 2006
Here Here Gary,

you are right, that would be a dumb question. And I second Gary's formula, I use the chimney as well, and that really is one thing that goes by the clock.

I use one piece of paper let that burn real quick then throw one more piece of paper under there then just walk away, half hour later they're ready for the grates.
 

Latest posts

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying! (But that's how we keep the lights on.)

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks