Stall, operator error, impatience, or smoker issue?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

TheReluctantCraftstronaut

Original poster
Jan 3, 2019
I'm completely new to smoking meat with a real smoking setup. Until yesterday, I've only ever used a gas grill with indirect heat, putting chips wrapped in foil pouches on the flame. Never was too scientific, and to step up my game, the Mrs. got me an MES 40 1st generation smoker for Christmas with a cold smoker attachment. I read a little online to help get my bearings, but didn't do much reading before needing to smell smoke and melting pork fat.

I bumped into this forum yesterday when trying to diagnose why my pulled pork was taking so long. I found Bearcarver's "step by step" post and immediately added it to my favorites. I have read a bit more since then, and I'm not sure if I experienced a difficult stall, if I'm doing something wrong, or if there's an issue with my temp controller (I don't think so).

Anyways, I'm hoping you can help illuminate some likely causes of my prolonged smoking session yesterday, so my next session is more successful.

Problem: I started smoking at 5am and at 8:30 pm my internal temp was still only about 177 deg. F.

Meat: 8.3 lb bone-in pork butt, rinsed, dried, coated with mustard and my rub.
Vessel: Two foil pans stacked in one another for strength, with wire cooling rack on top.
Smoker: MES40 1st generation
Thermometer: Built in MES40 meat probe and ThermoPro TP17 dual probe.

Process:
- 4:15 am: Set temp to max (275).
- Did NOT add water to water pan and had the vent fully open.
- Used MES meat probe and one of the thermopro probes to measure ambient temp in smoker.