Smoking 500 pounds of meat at a time

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

SCBBQ

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Apr 2, 2021
Hey guys -

Thought I’d share my smoking method for 500 pounds of meat at a time - might take me a few days to sift and sort through pictures but hopefully will be a fun thing to share.

9041BD81-983A-4BB6-B665-0FB2F3E82EAA.jpeg

Wow great looking slice of Kitchen heaven right there, if I could back up 50+ years I would have liked being a chef I do believe.

Reactions: 912smoker
That's an incredible setup and Kitchen! Very impressive. More pics please.

So over this past Christmas, we smoked a ton of meat in 4 sessions. Each session being 500 pounds.

That math was around 130 Boston butts and 80 prime briskets -

I sourced prime briskets from a few Costcos around the area for a great price - $3.29 a pound I think..

Boston Butts - ordered them through my food service for around a buck a pound for Smithfield.

For Rub, and simplification, I use and really like Cookshack products.

The Cookshack smoker is built in and holds 500 pounds of meat on 15 racks.

For pellets, I like a blend of Mesquite and fruitwood.

Anywhere from 20-22 hours later, the doors will open again for the first time. I don't wrap them anymore halfway through or do anything to any of it. Just let it go and it turns out perfect. So the routine is that I put them in the smoker around 7 PM and open the doors around 5 PM the next day.

Screen Shot 2021-04-17 at 5.08.34 PM.png

WOW! I feel like i'm at a Meat Wonderland. Very impressive equipment, setup and friends. This is the nicest I've ever seen. Great work. Thanks for the pics.