Smoke Generator

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

1967robg

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Aug 18, 2015
Western MA,Berkshire Mt foothills
I want to up my cold smoking game. I've been smoking for all most 20 years and just started doing my own bacon about 75lbs ago. I have a homemade offset, pit boss pellet, some vault xl and a couple kettle grills. This past weekend I built a cold smoke generator similar to the smokemeister. It works, but man this thing smokes like a coal fired train! I've seen and read about the mailbox mod. If I add 20 feet of pipe will it clean up the smoke?

Attachments

• 20220102_170121.jpg
    20220102_170121.jpg
    61.7 KB · Views: 61
  • 20220102_164318.jpg
    20220102_164318.jpg
    103.9 KB · Views: 56
  • 20220102_163719.jpg
    20220102_163719.jpg
    129.3 KB · Views: 61
Reactions: bauchjw
Giving a bump since I’m not the best to answer fab questions. But, that is awesome! My opinion is that a long pipe would help. I had a smoke Generator a while back that was smoking a lot like yours, the guys here helped me out and I rigged up a 10ft pipe to clean up the smoke. It’s worked great ever since then!

Reactions: 1967robg
Nice piece of work. What are you burning in it?

From the look of the smoke, it's not getting enough oxygen. Does it clear up after it's been burning a while?
Not until it get to the very bottom of the pot. The bottom swings open to light and to let ash out. It also is the damper. I welded two pieces of expanded metal vertically inside for air flow as well. I can take pictures after work if interested.

I’d like to see the details of your build. Thanks. You must have a plasma cutter.

Have you tried just using wood chunks? Might be slower burning.