Shelf Life of Cured & Smoked Turkey Breast?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

darwin101

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Jun 16, 2013
Hi all,
I got tired of paying $8 to $12 per pound for smoke turkey breast so I cured and smoked a few myself. If the breast is properly cured, smoked and vacuum sealed, what is a safe amount of time that I could keep it in the refrigerator? I have processed 8 breast so far and they are in the freezer. I really hate freezing meat so I thought I should ask ya'll for food safety advice.
The grocery store has been running turkey breast on the bone for $0.99 per pound, at 50% bone I am still way ahead on price and quality. I'm not a big fan of turkey stock, but I will find a use for it. ;)

Thanks

I'm no expert, but the packaged deli meats that I have seen usually have a date that is about a month or so. I would think that with the vacuum packaging, you should be able to get 2-3 weeks out of it.

I kept a sealed portion of the turkey breast in the refrigerator for a bit over three weeks as a simple test. The turkey was fine, it had no off smell, taste or texture issues. I won't push it past that and once opened I think it best to consume within a few days.

The table below, is based on the original date of packaging... AND the conditions under which the meat was packaged....

1. Food is cooked and transferred hot to a package, which is sealed and cooled, or
2. Food is cooked, cooled, transferred without pathogen contamination to a package, and sealed or
3. Packaged food is cooked, cooled, and then, kept chilled to control the outgrowth of spores that survive pasteurization.