• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Rookie question #1 - Creasote

jrm80

Newbie
3
10
Joined Jan 4, 2014
 I've only owned a smoker for a few days and have smoked some Salmon, Sea Bass, and Brisket so far. The Smoker is a MES30. I used the built in tube chip feeder for the first batch and an a maze n smoke tube for the second. Both batches left the bottom of the water pan sticky with condensed creasote. Is this normal or should I be worried about my airflow? I had the top vent about half way open and pulled the feeder tube out just a bit as I read here. Everything taste great, especially that toothfish, but I just want to make sure I am not feeding my family something dangerous. 

 Thanks in advance,

Jeff
 

ldrus

Smoking Fanatic
OTBS Member
624
17
Joined Jul 16, 2007
All is fine, that us normal smoke build-up, I would suggest that u always run your top vent fully open
 

mossymo

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
4,922
1,382
Joined May 30, 2007
That sticky junk on the bottom of the water pan is normal. But whenever you are applying smoke you will want your top exhaust vent wide open so you are not restricting airflow. If at any time you are done smoking and just cooking then you can shut the exhaust vent and use your smoker more as an oven.
 

geerock

Master of the Pit
SMF Premier Member
1,367
77
Joined Oct 25, 2010
The new generation 2 MES units have a very small exhaust.  I suggest you open it all the way all the time to get good flow.I actually pulled my stock vent out and went with a 3" adjustable elbow with a flap damper. You want to keep that air moving so you don't get that build up.

And I don't use chips, I use small chunks for smoke flavor.  Longer lasting and better smoke flavor.
 
Last edited:

jrm80

Newbie
3
10
Joined Jan 4, 2014
Thanks for the amazingly quick responses! I will keep it wide open when smoking.

 Is it still a good idea to partially open the chip feeder to create more airflow while smoking also? My unit is a Gen 1 with the top vent. 

Thank again,

Jeff
 

geerock

Master of the Pit
SMF Premier Member
1,367
77
Joined Oct 25, 2010
I assumed that since it was recent it was a gen 2. But you're a lucky guy, the gen 1 is a better cooker. The exhaust on yours is much larger than the 2 and there is better flow thru the chip loader. But opening it will increase the flow and help your pellet tube stay lit. Play with it and see what works for you. All the best to you.
 

seenred

Legendary Pitmaster
OTBS Member
Group Lead
9,239
558
Joined Feb 9, 2009
 
Thanks for the amazingly quick responses! I will keep it wide open when smoking.

 Is it still a good idea to partially open the chip feeder to create more airflow while smoking also? My unit is a Gen 1 with the top vent. 

Thank again,

Jeff
Yes, many MES owners will pull the chip loader out an inch or 2, and/or pull the chip tray out just a tiny bit, to promote more air flow.  Every rig is slightly different, so you'll kinda have to experiment with yours to find the best combination for optimal air flow.

Red
 

Victor

Fire Starter
62
16
Joined Jul 18, 2012
Geerock,

What make & model temperature unit are using on top of your smoker?

Is it a dual probe? Has the lead in wire for the probe lasted for awhile?

My meat probe on my MES 40 isn't working correctly now.

I'm in the market for a temp unit that I don't have to replace the probe(s) periodically.
 

goliath

Smoking Fanatic
567
63
Joined Oct 8, 2013
the meat probe went on my MES 30 while still under warranty, made me get a maverick. the people at Masterbuilt sent me a new probe free and it was simple to install.... still working, BUT not as accurate as the Maverick
 

geerock

Master of the Pit
SMF Premier Member
1,367
77
Joined Oct 25, 2010
That's an Auber Instruments 1203cph dual probe six step programmable PID. Its about a year old and no issues with the probes. It did need to go back to Auber once for a cooked SSR as the 1200 watt element is about at the edge of its capability. Since then I simply adjusted the output to 85% in the programming and no issues. It has auto tune that reads the cooker and will hold set temp to within a degree or two. I love it. It does all kinds of stuff in the programming like go to hold temp after meat hits finish temp, step up temp cook for bacon, etc, etc.
 

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.