question about venison hindquarters

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

wnctracker

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Oct 24, 2016
Western North Carolina
What cut do you think makes the best roast? Top round, bottom round, rump?? I like to keep one roast out of each hindquarter and have always kept the top round/sirloin, it turns out delicious when braised but I'm not sure if I've been picking the best one or not?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

No difference in venison. I have been doing this for 40 years and basically just trim all the fat & silver skin, cut it against the grain and you will have very tasty & tender meat

If cooked properly, there all great. Although, i usually take the eye of round out and fry that up with a little butter and garlic...:drool

What cut do you think makes the best roast? Top round, bottom round, rump?? I like to keep one roast out of each hindquarter and have always kept the top round/sirloin, it turns out delicious when braised but I'm not sure if I've been picking the best one or not?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hmmm good question.

If you are going to cook for a while and want more flavor with connective tissue then I would say the chuck roast, I pulled an image from online:

I say this because it has plenty of connective silver skin and such that if you cook for long enough will melt away into some flavorful stuff and doesn't do so hot if cooked quickly or if you try to cut steaks out of the chuck roast.