Question about thin blue smoke on a uds

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

greg84

Original poster
May 25, 2021
Hey there

Im new to smoking and I've been reading a lot about how to get thin blue smoke on my uds and most people say to wait an hour or so for the smoke to change from thick white to thin blue. I've tried that and it does work sorta, but it seems like what's really happening is the wood is pretty much burned through, so its stopped smoking as much. If that's what I'm looking for then why use big chunks instead of chips like most people recommend? They'll burn through much faster than big chunks. I mean it takes about an hour to get tbs using big chunks. Unless I'm doing it wrong or dont understand? Could someone clarify? Thanks

thin blue smoke is the product of a good hot fire. The wood should be pre heated before going into the fire. Preheating will cause the wood to ignite quickly and yield a nice clean smoke and that is what you are looking for.

thin blue smoke is the product of a good hot fire. The wood should be pre heated before going into the fire. Preheating will cause the wood to ignite quickly and yield a nice clean smoke and that is what you are looking for.

I've read that too and today I placed a big chunk of hickory on top of my pizza pan heat diffuser for an hour while I dialed in the temp. The wood was so hot I needed gloves to pick it up. I then placed it right in the centre of the hot coals and even then it took an hour for the white smoke to stop.

Does that makes sense to you?

Thanks