Problem with getting wood to smolder

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mrazz71

Original poster
Mar 21, 2017
Hi, Mark from New Hampshire. I've been researching and consulting this website for about two years now. Thank you everyone for the endless flow of information. I must say I have been very frustrated since I have bought my smoker. My model is the Masterbuilt Two Door Propane Smoker, purchased from Bass Pro Shop. I have read and applied most of the suggested modifications people have posted on the forums.

I installed a better valve for more precise burner control.

I put wind blockers around the bottom

I installed a Nomex seal around the doors

I placed two halves of a red brick on each side of the burner, this is what supports my 8" cast iron frying pan used to burn my wood chunks just above the flame.

I also purchased a Maverick Digital Remote Thermometer

I still have a problem getting my wood chunks to smolder correctly. My burner valve is working fine, I'm able to bring the temp inside the smoker down between 210 - 250 consistently. But when I burn the flame that low, my chunks will burn out and refuse to smolder. Lately I have been reading more in the forums and I have realized that I have been making a very common sense, rookie mistake. All this time I have been trying to smoke while keeping the back, top vent completely CLOSED, my version does not have any circular vents on either side of the burner towards the bottom. The flame would also burn out once in awhile, a result of no circulating air flow I'm sure.

My Question: Is anyone out there having trouble getting their wood chunks to smolder? Does anyone have suggestions on how to manage this problem and produce a nice, blue, consistent smoke?