Poor mans burnt ends.....Questions

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

JLeonard

Epic Pitmaster
Original poster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Apr 17, 2020
Southaven, MS
Was gonna do some pork belly burnt ends Friday. Cant find pork belly anywhere close. So got a couple of chuck roasts to do poor man burnt ends.
My questions begin here....
1. Smoke roast whole or cut into chunks prior?
2. Use the Propane smoker or kettle? Gonna be single digits here Friday. Will the propane even flow when its that cold?
3. Any other advice to give?

Jim

I'm along for the ride Jim! I've never done them before...guess too hungry and lack of patience lol!

Ryan

Reactions: JLeonard
Not a fan of burnt ends, but I like to watch.
I have friends that do it both ways. Most go ahead and chunk (especially pork belly) so the whole batch is more a hors d'oevres style nibbles.

2. Use the Propane smoker or kettle? Gonna be single digits here Friday. Will the propane even flow when its that cold?

Jim
Propane will flow but it needs a little help. Bring the tank inside overnight so it starts warm. If it is about 2/3 full or less, find a way to (SAFELY!) tip it about 30-45° off vertical. It adds surface area of the liquid which helps the vaporization. Wrapping in a blanket never hurts, too.

Ive only done this once. I cut the roast into big enough pieces that I could manage with my tongs, i just wanted as much surface area as possible. When they were probe tender, I cut them to size and smoked them in a pan with sauce. Everyone really liked them, so it was a success, i'm sure there are other techniques.