No-weld UDS (popular mechanics)

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mlol

Original poster
Mar 11, 2013
Europe
Hi Gents,

I'm brand new to the forums, and, well, everything. I am looking for a hobby and I like to cook. Of course I like BBQ and smoked meat and its not something you find alot of (at least in the way I am used to from back in the USA) here in Germany where I live. I want to build a UDS smoker to make smoked beef jerky with. Maybe this is a bit overkill for just making Jerky, and considering i have very little experience building anything (other than computers). But, like I said, i'm looking for a hobby.

So right now I'm reading all I can, browsing around the forums, and starting to search around for a non-sealed drum or two nearby that I can get for cheap.

I am looking at the non-welding build because I have 0 welding experience and dont know anyone who does. However, If I had to, I'm sure I could find someone there are alot of artists here who make stuff with scrap/metal. I suppose I could just ask one.

Anyways I will post back here as I find parts and figure out the plan! :) Cheers!

Popular Mechanics No-Weld UDS:
http://www.popularmechanics.com/hom...g/build-your-own-smoker-from-a-55-gallon-drum

Last edited:
mlol, Check out the UDS builds here before following that article from Popular Mechanic. There are a couple of things wrong with the article design-wise that will be apparent when you look at the UDS builds. The 4 air-intakes on risers is one-that much pipe will reduce your air flow and will give you problems maintaining your chamber temps.