Newbie with a couple of MES 40 questions.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

spectre

Original poster
Apr 12, 2013
Hi all,

I'm new to smoking, and to this forum. I did smoke my first brisket yesterday with my new 2nd gen Mes 40, and it came out pretty darn well thanks to the great info and suggestions I found while searching this forum. I'm hoping someone can answer a couple of seeming simple questions that I have that are not so obvious to me. First, can the Mes 40 drip/ heat deflector be covered in foil to help with cleanup, or will that affect the heat distribution? Second, after reading threads here, I'm thinking about getting an amnsp, but I'm confused about how best to place it in the Mes 40. Should it be on the left side away from the element?. Should it be placed on the floor of the smoker underneath the water pan? Should the water pan be removed and it set on top of the deflector over the water pan hole. I'd appreciate any input, and wanted to let you all know how glad I am to have found this forum and look forward to being a member here.

Call Todd at amazn or send pm on this forum and he'll give you the answer. He's played with his pellet tube in the 40 and knows how they work together.
On a side note I have used small chunks in the 40 with great results. As for foil....yeah cover it up for easy cleanup.

Hi all,