Newbie from TN

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

g8rntn

Original poster
Dec 3, 2013
I am new to smoking. Done it once. My buddy here at work does it a lot. I want to get the MES but I also want to "Smoke" rather than put it in the MES and come back hours later. What should I do?? Love this site already.

G8rntn,

Welcome to the site. It really comes down to your preference and how much "work" you want to put into it. I have a Brinkmann offset and as I am learning, it takes awhile to learn how to regulate your heat and keep it consistent. I cannot leave my smoker unattended too long without having to worry about the temperature dipping but I love it so to me its no big deal. I am constantly adding more charcoal to my charcoal starter or throwing more wood into the offset. I believe from what I have read, the MES has no issues capturing a nice smoky flavor. So for what it's worth, my limited experience lends me to believe that it's all about how much time you want to be involved in watching the fire/ temp. I'm sure some of the others will chime in as well. I would 100% advise you to get the Maverick ET-732 if you plan on buying an offset. It allows you to go up to 100 feet away and watch both the internal temp of the meat as well as the internal grill temp. I find myself smoking something new every weekend but it does take away from just sitting on the couch with a beer. . lol.

Honestly, I will probably get one of each. Wife is getting me the MES and I will look for the other myself.