New to me refurbish

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

JustCallMeChris

Original poster
Sep 9, 2018
So I’ve been smoking for quite a few years on my Orion and my Webber Kettle dreaming of the day I could get an offset smoker but I just refused to get a cheap mass produced one that would just frustrate me and haven’t been able to save the coin for a nice one. Yesterday I think I found a great compromise. I picked this smoker up for cheap and plan on refurbishing it and making some minor changes here and there.

7FE9D1D4-A953-409B-8BA8-644BC7529222.jpeg

3723C1FD-D920-49BE-95F2-7E09E0F2DDE3.jpeg

Main chamber is 20” cold rolled 3/8” steel that is 36” long. Firebox is 16” cold rolled 3/8” steel that is 20” long. The stack is 4”x6”, 4” above the cooking grate, and is 24” tall. Cooking grate is dead center with 10” above and below cooking surface.

My immediate plans are to get it back down to clean bare metal and get a better look at what I’m working with. There is a drain hole in the firebox that is rusting our I plan on filling. I also want to cut the baffle off the end of the firebox and do something different...I’m thinking maybe a sliding door with some flat stock. Replace this janky hinge/chain setup...
6363F136-D03B-486D-A1EC-826CC9E52E85.jpeg

And then I want to weld some flat bar around the door openings to frame them and seal them up better. They were cut with a plasma and left...
E075E8A9-54B0-43D6-AADB-078E41F4F283.jpeg

So, with this being my first offset smoker and a learning curve in front of me are there any other changes you can see that need to be made before I fire it up? I’m looking into baffle plates and planning on replacing the cooking grates also.

Reactions: buffalobbqpete