New member here... insulated reverse flow cabinet smoker build

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Brett Juneau

Original poster
Jan 17, 2018
Hello Everyone, new member here from Louisiana. I wanted to join the forum to share a build I have been working on for a few months now. I have observed several other builds on this site (and others) which gave me both inspiration and ideas for my own build.

About the builds...
I am building two identical reverse-flow insulated cabinet smokers for myself and a friend. Overall dimensions are 40"H x 22"W x 22"D. The frame is built from 2"x2"x1/8" square tubing. The water pan & firebox is made from 3/16" plate, inner walls of cooking chamber (reverse flow baffles) made from 16 ga., middle walls of cooking chamber is from 1/8" plate, and the entire outer shell is from 16 ga. The doors are framed by 1" square tubing and wrapped in 1/8" plate. The smoker and doors are fully insulated with fiberfrax ceramic insulation. Insulation is 2" thick on top, bottom, and back, 1" thick on sides and doors.