New guy questions about MES Digital Electric Smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rlanicek

Original poster
Dec 20, 2019
Van Alstyne, TX
New guy here, thinking about getting an electric smoker.

I have an old big wood smoker that I inherited years ago so I have some experience.

Cabela's has this MES 140S Digital Electric Smoker on sale and I could get it free with my club points.

Did a little research, which is how I found this forum, and it gets mixed reviews.

However, reading this forum for the last hour or so, it seems the MES' work great with a few mods.

Can someone point me to the mailbox mod instructions and/or link?

Any feedback on this smoker good or bad? Recommendations? Opinions?

Thanks and I am excited to have found this site and to learn more from you seasoned smokers!

That's a good one, rlanicek!
It looks to be a Hybrid, with a Gen #1 exterior & a Gen #2.5 interior.
Not a bad price for that one either.

Bear

New guy here, thinking about getting an electric smoker.

I have an old big wood smoker that I inherited years ago so I have some experience.

Cabela's has this MES 140S Digital Electric Smoker on sale and I could get it free with my club points.

Did a little research, which is how I found this forum, and it gets mixed reviews.

However, reading this forum for the last hour or so, it seems the MES' work great with a few mods.

Can someone point me to the mailbox mod instructions and/or link?

Any feedback on this smoker good or bad? Recommendations? Opinions?

Thanks and I am excited to have found this site and to learn more from you seasoned smokers!