New Guy From Michigan!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

papab71

Original poster
Dec 29, 2015
Allegan, MI
Hey Y'all!

My name's Bryan, and I'm a new smoker from Allegan, MI. I am brand new to the world of smoking. Like brand  new. Like the smoker hasn't even arrived yet (due to a shipping SNAFU with QVC). Like a lot of the new members here, I am getting a new Masterbuilt 30" analog electric smoker from my awesome wife, and I can't wait to get started with this new obsession... ahem... hobby! I love grilling, and have become a better-than-average griller, but I've always wanted to try my hand at smoking meat. Since I found out about the smoker on Christmas Eve, I've been watching YouTube videos, reading Jeff's book, and trying to get as much as knowledge as possible on processes and equipment before the smoker arrives tomorrow (12/30/15).

The "maiden voyage" for the Masterbuilt and I will be smoking a pork butt for pulled pork on New Year's Day. Any words of wisdom or things I should know before getting this baby fired up? I will try to chronicle my day and share with you all.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to making some new friends and learning about this awesome hobby. 

Hey Bryan,

Welcome to SMF from Shelby Township. Glad to have another member from the "mitten" join up!

Sounds like you are excited a rearing to go! That's great. I have smoked about 75 pork butts so let me know if you have any questions because I can tell you tons about it. On the other hand, I am a propane smoker, and I know the Masterbuilts have lots-o mods and tricks other members on this site are more familiar with so you might want to ask them if you have a smoker-specific question.