MES40 (20072612 ) Smoker at sam's club, MES cold smoker mod pg 2

Discussion in 'Electric Smokers' started by smokin raf, Mar 5, 2014.

  1. smokin raf

    smokin raf Fire Starter

    Getting ready to get an MES 40 gen II and a Maverick ET-733 temp probe (or two). A couple years ago I got a Grillpro Propane Cabinet Smoker and I’m in a windy area and have problems keeping the thing lit for low and slow so I’m hoping this smoker will work well despite some of the flaws. I'll be getting the warranty for the 2 years. My wife got some baby-back ribs. Getting the fever for smoking  back after not doing much last year. Plus this winter has been too cold, minus 28°F was too cold for me [​IMG]. I'm still kind of new at it but I'm on the right forum to get the info I need. Thanks to all who took time to put their experiences here to help us new guys out.

    [​IMG]  
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2014
  2. bearcarver

    bearcarver Smoking Guru OTBS Member

    No chance of you getting the one that works right??------ Gen #1 ???

    Bear
     
  3. smokin raf

    smokin raf Fire Starter

    Well I picked it up, Pre-seasoning it now.  Anyone know where the sensor is for the box? I have a thermometer on the 2nd to the bottom Shelf  close to a what looks like button on the back right and its reading 300°F while the display reads 240°F. Looks like I have a good one that reads low. I might let it get up to 305°F then I'll set the temperature set point to what its reading so it don't over heat.
     
  4. jbriggs

    jbriggs Newbie

    I have a 30 inch MES and I've had the same problems with temp running hot....as much as 50 degrees. First 6 times I used it it worked great....nice thin blue smoke. Now it overheats and my wood burns...so I contacted Masterbuilt.
    They sent me a new unit. Said they thought the thermostat was bad. So...new unit came and it does the same thing...burns wood instead of smoking. Then they accidentally sent me a third unit. Not kidding...just showed up on my doorstep. Anyway I'm seasoning this third one as I post this but haven't put any chips in it yet. So far its only about 15 degrees hot.
    I can't believe how well it worked and the great smoke I was getting from it the first six times I used it and now....it just burns wood. I've tried everything I can think of....soaking and not soaking. I tried cutting back some air by putting some foil in the chip loader to block the three holes....nope, didn't work.
    I'm at a loss....anyone have any ideas???
     
  5. smokin raf

    smokin raf Fire Starter

    I'm guessing you are seeing it worked the first few times but Are you setting it 15°F less than what you want. Mines reading 60°F lower than what it actually is. So if I want to the cabinet temp at 250°F then I'll set it around 190°F. Also I think I read somewhere to put some sand in the Square pan the wood chips go in to help with burning too fast. Maybe someone else can confirm this.

    Update: Actually at a box temp if 215°F I'm at 250°F. So the amount it's off isn't linear. I might have to make a spreadsheet and set it at different temps the record the actual and the display. Seeing it could vary from the first time I do a smoke I might have to do this after every 5 smokes.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2014
  6. jbriggs

    jbriggs Newbie

    I can deal with the temp variances. ..for the most part. Its the fact that its now a portable wood burning fireplace is my big problem. The sand may work...but its still baffling to me how it works great for the first six times and now...crap.
    And for the record I've tried using two different GFCI outlets and of course....no extension cords.
     
  7. smokin raf

    smokin raf Fire Starter

    I hear what your saying, I did a lot of reading before I bought mine. Its a gen 2 and I was ready for the flaws. I like the challenge[​IMG] I just hope mine keeps reading low. If I have to many problems I might make an external box for the smoke. I've seen a few mods on here and YouTube so I have a idea what to do.
     
  8. jbriggs

    jbriggs Newbie

    Sad tho that ya drop a couple hundred bucks and have to make modifications. Saving up for a yoder pellet. ...all American made.
     
  9. smokin raf

    smokin raf Fire Starter

    Well I got to the point of adding some chip in the pre-seasoning procedure  and mine did like yours, smokin' like the Bandit. I don't have sand but I do have some pea gravel. I'm thinking the chips right on the metal of the pan is whats doing it. So after the seasoning I'll let it cool down and try that. I have some cheap country ribs I was going to do for the first smoke that way I don't waste a good cut of meat.
     
  10. jbriggs

    jbriggs Newbie

    I'm seriously considering buying an A-maze-in smoker tube and just using the MES as the heater...sucks but may be my only option.
     
  11. smokin raf

    smokin raf Fire Starter

    Last edited: Mar 8, 2014
  12. jbriggs

    jbriggs Newbie

    yeah I know what you mean. I don't want to give up on the chips either but I'm starting to wonder if I'm ever going to make them work.I'm going to give it another try tomorrow to see if I can do something different to make the chips alone work. Good luck!
     
  13. smokin raf

    smokin raf Fire Starter

    Well I'm smokin' and it looks like the pea gravel did the trick, took a little longer to start smokin' but now getting a good smoke, TBS. We'll see how it goes, I see about adding some pics'
     
  14. jbriggs

    jbriggs Newbie

    Awesome!!!! I miss the smell of TBS....
     
  15. smokin raf

    smokin raf Fire Starter

    About 15 min into the smoke. I used some lump with soaked chips. Not much meat in it seeing its the first one, just to become one with my smoker.


     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2014
  16. jbriggs

    jbriggs Newbie

    How much pea gravel did you use?
     
  17. smokin raf

    smokin raf Fire Starter

    I just used enough to coat the bottom. Added more chips at about 40 min into the smoke, It's starting to smoke a little more than I'd like so I might add just a bit more pea gravel on the next smoke.
     
  18. treym64

    treym64 Smoke Blower

    I have mes 40 and no problems
     
  19. smokin raf

    smokin raf Fire Starter

    I have the gen II some people do and some don't.

    I think I used to much lump Charcoal. After 2 hours of smokin' I wrapped meat in foil and took out the chip bin, the lump coal was cherry red and I think this caused my chips to smoke faster, next smoke I'll try with no lump.  Anyway took a taste of a thin strip and it's pretty good. I mixed some apple Juice and Jack Daniels with the meat.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2014
  20. jbriggs

    jbriggs Newbie

    Trying to smoke today with a bit of sand in the bottom of the chip tray. Hopefully that's enough to keep my wood from burning....
     

Share This Page