MES 30 cooking

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

johnvh

Fire Starter
Original poster
Dec 21, 2010
NW. Washington
Is there anything anywhere more directed towards using just the MES 30 or similar smokers? I cant do 350* in there and it seems alot of people have better smokers that can.   Im new to this (have not even seasoned it yet) and am absorbing everything I can find.   So I guess looking for info on what I can do with this.

Very excited to get cookin!

Id like to do chicken, turkey, all wild game, fish, you name it in this thing.

Thank you!

There is a bunch of MES users here.

Check out the forums and search engine.

You don't need 350 to smoke with.

Mine gets up to 270 without a problem.

Welcome aboard and have fun!

Craig

Most smoking is done at a smoker temp of around 225. Some of us will crank up the heat higher to do Poultry but you don't have to we do it to get the skin to crisp up more. You will find a large number of our members using the MES brand smokers many of them have the 40" model but they should smoke pretty much the same way.

seasoned it last night, with 45min remaining on the 275* 3 hour cook it says to put wood chips in, it barely burnt any of them chips..  I figured it would have done better, any thoughts?