Masterbuilt propane double door model # 20051311 Temperature issues

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

richdm

Original poster
Mar 28, 2015
Ft. Campbell, KY
I am new to smoking and can really use some help. I am having issues keeping my temp. steady. I am having to keep the bottom door open just to keep the temp down. Today is my second time using the smoker and I wrapped my soaked chips in aluminum with holes in it. I got good smoke for like 30 minutes. Then I took them out of the aluminum because of some other info I read online. However, I cant keep the damn temp down to 225-250. It just steadily rises and I have the flame from the propane tank as low as possible. Help please???!

First of all don't soak your chips. The aluminum foil packet is a good idea for chips if that is all you have. Chunks work better. Do you have the top vent all the way open? If not that could be part of the problem. I have seen lot's of folks that have this same problem with that smoker. It seems you can install a needle valve from Cajun bandit and it helps you control low temps much better. I have also seen people use a cast iron pan instead of the chip tray that comes with the smoker and this seems to help too. A little more information would help. Also are you relying on the factory thermometer on the door for your readings? They are known to always be off and most times more than just a little off.

Most of us on here use sand or pea gravel in the pan. Steam causes all kinds of issues inside your smoker and I won't get into that but that is what a lot of us do. Plus wrap that in foil for easy cleanup after.