Masterbuilt 30" arriving tomorrow, I'm a total newbie and I have a couple Q's

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

portlis

Original poster
Dec 9, 2014
Hey all, great forum.  My Masterbuilt 30" model 20070910 (should be the newest version of it?) is arriving tomorrow and I'm excited to start using it, but I have a couple pretty noobish sounding questions.   I've never owned or used a smoker of any kind before.

1)  I live in Minnesota.  It's cold here during the winter.  Is this going to be a problem using it in the winter?  I've read tons of reviews and MANY people report that it works just fine in "cold temperature", but they're usually referring to it being in the 40s.  I'm talking about being in the single digits to 20s.  I guess my main concerns are a) that it will properly heat up and retain heat and b) that I won't damage any part of the unit from leaving it out in the cold for an extended cook of 10 hours in actual freezing temperatures.  If I need to only use it in more moderate temps, so be it, but I'd like to know the experience of others beforehand.

2)  I live in a townhouse complex, and storing it outside isn't something I want to do.  It's probably not good to store it outside in the cold anyway, but that sort of goes back to question #1.  So my options are to either store it in my garage or literally in my house.  Going back to the whole cold temperature thing, would storing it in cold but not ridiculously cold temperatures in my garage (probably 20-40 degrees) for extended periods of time be a bad idea?  Alternatively, I'll store it inside, which leads me to wonder just how messy a smoker like this gets after being used?  What do you guys who live in similar temperatures do for storage?