Making Kielbasa

  • Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Mike2523

Newbie
Original poster
Nov 12, 2022
7
0
Today I made kielbasa in my Smokin Tex 1460. I am Not happy with the final product, the looks.
I placed the rings on the racks and smoked using Cherry until the temperature was 154. I placed it in a cold bath.
Some of the kielbasa was not red looking like other pieces were.

What am I doing wrong?

I make kielbasa in the past other ways, like piping Cherry smoke to a 3x3 box holding the kielbasa. Worked great.
 

Attachments

  • B5066AFC-EC31-42E0-A6B1-3701D1338C3D.jpeg
    B5066AFC-EC31-42E0-A6B1-3701D1338C3D.jpeg
    140.2 KB · Views: 14
  • CDBA613C-6093-4B1A-95A5-522BA71EC220.jpeg
    CDBA613C-6093-4B1A-95A5-522BA71EC220.jpeg
    133.1 KB · Views: 14
  • 46384295-6A34-44EC-BB6D-0CE8D75ABABB.jpeg
    46384295-6A34-44EC-BB6D-0CE8D75ABABB.jpeg
    119.1 KB · Views: 14
  • DD181127-C561-4AA9-ADCB-4A0E110C40B8.jpeg
    DD181127-C561-4AA9-ADCB-4A0E110C40B8.jpeg
    86 KB · Views: 14

SmokinEdge

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Jan 18, 2020
5,396
5,723
Western Colorado
What temp did you run? Also looks like hot spots in that cooker, you have to rotate the meat around.
 

Mike2523

Newbie
Original poster
Thread starter
Nov 12, 2022
7
0
What temp did you run? Also looks like hot spots in that cooker, you have to rotate the meat around.
I started at 100 for about 30 minutes to preheat and make sure it was dry. Then increased to 140 adding the Cherry chunks for about and hour. Then increased to 150 until the kielbasa thermometer read 154.
 

SmokinEdge

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Jan 18, 2020
5,396
5,723
Western Colorado
I started at 100 for about 30 minutes to preheat and make sure it was dry. Then increased to 140 adding the Cherry chunks for about and hour. Then increased to 150 until the kielbasa thermometer read 154.
How did you get IT of 154 with pit temp of 150? In Pits meat usually lags pit temp by 20ish degrees.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DanMcG and DougE

tbern

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Dec 27, 2015
3,040
1,573
Southwest Minnesota
What kind of probes are you using to check your pit and meat temps? Have you checked them for accuracy lately?
 

DougE

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Apr 13, 2010
3,222
3,372
Richmond,KY
How did you get IT of 154 with pit temp of 150? In Pits meat usually lags pit temp by 20ish degrees.
15 to 20, is the lag in my experience. Either way, the meat can not exceed the pit temp. Physics and all that stuff.
 

Brokenhandle

Legendary Pitmaster
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Nov 9, 2019
8,253
7,686
Nw Iowa
If stove temps get above set temps (as the op stated) then meat temps can get higher also. Set temp on stove to 150 and it actually heats to 170...

Ryan
 

Brokenhandle

Legendary Pitmaster
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Nov 9, 2019
8,253
7,686
Nw Iowa
Should have said smoker, but OP said stove, thus my reply.
If you don't have enough therms to check temps in different areas of your smoker...try using pre packaged biscuits and spread them around inside smoker.

Ryan
 

DougE

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Apr 13, 2010
3,222
3,372
Richmond,KY
If stove temps get above set temps (as the op stated) then meat temps can get higher also. Set temp on stove to 150 and it actually heats to 170...

Ryan
Still, the problem would be with the cooker exceeding set temps, not what's cooking rising above the max temp of the cooker. Generally, there is a 15 to 20° lag between the cooker and what's in it.
 

Brokenhandle

Legendary Pitmaster
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Nov 9, 2019
8,253
7,686
Nw Iowa
Yes but the question was asked..." how did you get an IT of 154 with a pit temp of 150"...was just pointing out what OP said "the cooker goes above set temps" . That's how you get an IT of 154 with pit temps set at 150. So when I had my analog mes 30 before I got an auber pid the therm was 20 degrees off. Also had 25 degree temp swings...so maybe set at 150 but could be running at 170. But as pics show there are definitely hot spots...if therm was in those hot spots would read much warmer than if in cooler end of meat.

Ryan
 

SmokinEdge

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Jan 18, 2020
5,396
5,723
Western Colorado
Yes but the question was asked..." how did you get an IT of 154 with a pit temp of 150"...was just pointing out what OP said "the cooker goes above set temps" . That's how you get an IT of 154 with pit temps set at 150. So when I had my analog mes 30 before I got an auber pid the therm was 20 degrees off. Also had 25 degree temp swings...so maybe set at 150 but could be running at 170. But as pics show there are definitely hot spots...if therm was in those hot spots would read much warmer than if in cooler end of meat.

Ryan
I agree,
but good grief.
 

Brokenhandle

Legendary Pitmaster
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Nov 9, 2019
8,253
7,686
Nw Iowa
I agree,
but good grief.
My thoughts exactly! The OP was asking for help not to be questioned on the impossible. Not everything has to be so technical...I shouldn't have to point out the obvious. You were right in your answer...he has hotspots in his smoker, or didn't rotate them and the ends closest to the heat got overdone. As was mentioned, his therms should be checked for accuracy in ice water and boiling water. We are here to help people with their questions and problems...it's that simple.

Ryan
 
  • Like
Reactions: chopsaw

SmokinEdge

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Jan 18, 2020
5,396
5,723
Western Colorado
My thoughts exactly! The OP was asking for help not to be questioned on the impossible. Not everything has to be so technical...I shouldn't have to point out the obvious. You were right in your answer...he has hotspots in his smoker, or didn't rotate them and the ends closest to the heat got overdone. As was mentioned, his therms should be checked for accuracy in ice water and boiling water. We are here to help people with their questions and problems...it's that simple.

Ryan
Yes sir, I completely agree. And you are spot on, as usual, Ryan.
 

chopsaw

Epic Pitmaster
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Dec 14, 2013
14,621
12,601
OFallon Mo.
Not everything has to be so technical.
Never used to be , but always comes from the same place .

I use Therm Pro TP-20 wired thermometers.
Mike , I have a TP-20 . It has a permanent spot in a drawer .
I was having some of the issues that you had . The therm tested good in boiling water , and good in ice . One day I got the idea to use my SV machine to check intermediate temps .
It was 20 to 30 degrees off at middle temps . SV set to 130 it read 160 . Double checked with 2 other therms and they matched my SV temps on the money .

The TP-20 isn't the complete cause of your issue , but I would be suspect of it . Knowing the running temp of your smoker is a starting point in my opinion .

Then air flow / hot spots , and maybe more important that I don't think was mentioned is load .
My opinion is it looks like you overloaded the smoker . Which can cause the trouble you had .
 

DougE

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Apr 13, 2010
3,222
3,372
Richmond,KY
You ever thought about just smoking your sausages long enough to get the color you want, then finishing them by poaching in water? I smoke long enough to get some good color, sometimes with nothing more than a smoke tube, then finish them in sous vide to 152°. Once they hit that temp, they go in a cold/ice water bath, and I hang them at room temp to bloom. Poaching can also be done on the stovetop if you don't have a sous vide cooker. I think chopsaw chopsaw finishes a lot of his on the stovetop.
 
  • Like
Reactions: chopsaw

Latest posts

Hot Threads