knife safety

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

speed bump

Original poster
Jan 9, 2017
A picture is worth a thousand words- but some people need both. I've been farming, butchering and processing for better than 40 years. I made cheese and worked handling and cutting wheels of cheese.I also worked as an ER nurse for 20 years. My son worked in a restaurant as well.
In these contexts, I've run into knife injuries aplenty, and have become enough of a pest on the subject at home to deserve 'OSHA' as a middle name. The photo illustrates one of my pet peeves. I've approached the subject in various ways- and today I decided to go from another angle.
My son had the experience of knocking a concealed knife off the work table and having it go right through his work boot into his foot. I've had one concealed under the edge of a beef quarter get flipped off in a similar way. I escaped injury that time.
So after taking this photo this am, I went looking through my books for a vivid description I'd read once on the topic. Came close in Hasheider's butchering book. It came close but not quite there. I was hoping to glean some information here as to another persuasive source or personal story. I'm going to be doing a 'safety first' post in various areas and want to get my ducks in a row first. No one (including yours truly) needs to come bumbling down in the morning, bleary -eyed, to face this repeated hazard.

Attachments

• 20220310_091541.jpg
    20220310_091541.jpg
    66.8 KB · Views: 46