1. Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Injecting Pork Loin

Discussion in 'Curing' started by bighole, Nov 30, 2018.

1. bighole

bighole Newbie

i am new to the smoking and curing world and would like some advise. I am going to try and cure and smoke a 4 pork loin to have Canadian Bacon. The brine I plan to use has the proper amount of pink salt, water, herbs etc. The brine recipe instructions are to submerge the loin in a plastic container for four days, dry for 12 hours in the frig and then smoke to 150 degrees. my question is to improve the taste and shorten brine time, can I inject the loin with the brine, brine submerged for two days and then smoke? Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

2. zwiller

zwiller Smoking Fanatic

Rule of thumb for curing "pickle"/submerge is 1/4" meat thickness per day. Yes, you are correct injecting speeds the process up considerably and is more uniform. Injected correctly (spaced on 1" or so) I see no issue with 2 days. I would still do the 12h (uncovered I assume) rest in fridge. You don't want wet meat going into the smoker... Pop's Brine is very popular here.

3. smokerjim

smokerjim Smoking Fanatic

I've used pops brine quite a few times, always comes out good, like zwiller said I go 1 day for every 1/4 inch plus 2 days. Injecting will speed it up a little.Then over night uncovered to dry it.

4. browneyesvictim

browneyesvictim Master of the Pit ★ Lifetime Premier ★

As a general rule you should inject if the meat is over 2" in thickness.
    Just curious... But could post or reference what recipe you are using?

5. daveomak

daveomak Smoking Guru OTBS Member SMF Premier Member

Can you post a link to that recipe ??? Somethings not kosher....

chopsaw likes this.
  6. chopsaw

chopsaw Master of the Pit SMF Premier Member