Injecting Pork Loin

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bighole

Original poster
Nov 30, 2018
i am new to the smoking and curing world and would like some advise. I am going to try and cure and smoke a 4 pork loin to have Canadian Bacon. The brine I plan to use has the proper amount of pink salt, water, herbs etc. The brine recipe instructions are to submerge the loin in a plastic container for four days, dry for 12 hours in the frig and then smoke to 150 degrees. my question is to improve the taste and shorten brine time, can I inject the loin with the brine, brine submerged for two days and then smoke? Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Rule of thumb for curing "pickle"/submerge is 1/4" meat thickness per day. Yes, you are correct injecting speeds the process up considerably and is more uniform. Injected correctly (spaced on 1" or so) I see no issue with 2 days. I would still do the 12h (uncovered I assume) rest in fridge. You don't want wet meat going into the smoker... Pop's Brine is very popular here.

I've used pops brine quite a few times, always comes out good, like zwiller said I go 1 day for every 1/4 inch plus 2 days. Injecting will speed it up a little.Then over night uncovered to dry it.

As a general rule you should inject if the meat is over 2" in thickness.
Just curious... But could post or reference what recipe you are using?

I'm with Dave , something don't sound right . Can't advise if we don't know what you are using .