• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

How's everyone's ET-732 working/holding up?

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
39,701
12,185
Joined Sep 12, 2009
My 732 works great, and it does have much better range than my 73 did, however it does lose signal quite often in my house. My house is small, so you can't get too far away, and where I use it, there is only one 6" thick log wall, but the door in that wall is steel. My remote control for my MES 40 never loses signal, and I usually have them together.

Bear
 

gmebey

Smoke Blower
75
11
Joined Oct 3, 2009
Got my ET-732, and used it once before the meat probe failed.

I have been using my wife's basic kitchen cooking probe without any problems, even with the wimpy silicone wires. I was looking forward to the rugged probes of the Maverick unit, but only to be let down.

I personally think Maverick missed the quality mark on their probe selection (design), and for this reason I'm returning it, and most likely will never by another Maverick (Redi Temp) product!
 
Last edited:

flanntastic

Smoke Blower
84
10
Joined Dec 17, 2010
i had a meat probe go bad, kept reading LLC or something, i must have got it wet.....they shipped me two new probes for $20, and i have a smile again!
 

biaviian

Smoking Fanatic
OTBS Member
752
51
Joined May 26, 2010
My 732 works great, and it does have much better range than my 73 did, however it does lose signal quite often in my house. My house is small, so you can't get too far away, and where I use it, there is only one 6" thick log wall, but the door in that wall is steel. My remote control for my MES 40 never loses signal, and I usually have them together.

Bear
1 of my 2 732s loses signal often and they site beside each other.  I think this product, while a great item, need a bit more testing before releaseing to the consumers.  I also have issues with two of my probes reading LLL.  I have to take them out, turn it off, and reset the whole deal then it goes away. 
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
39,701
12,185
Joined Sep 12, 2009
I have to call them today.

Mine works fine, but the third time I used & cleaned my probes, when I was wiping the meat probe wire, the metal casing & the black tube-cover pulled right out of the end of the probe. I was cleaning it exactly like I have been cleaning the two probes from my ET-73 (1 1/2 years--same pair of probes).

I'm sure they'll replace it, and I'll get one of each for backup too.

Bear
 

gmebey

Smoke Blower
75
11
Joined Oct 3, 2009
It appears to me that they need to address the quality issue with the probes.

BTW, I did reach Maverick about the issue and they are replacing the bad probe for free.

However I'm still a bit leary about the product and concerned of a failure in midst a smoke.
 

mco

Smoke Blower
129
10
Joined Feb 5, 2009
Looks like the meat probe on my ET732  went south last night, all of sudden it started reading HHH I tried it again today with the same results, I purchased it from a member here, not sure when though,can somebody point me in the right direction to get replaced.
 

venture

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
6,949
73
Joined Aug 1, 2008
There is definitely a problem with the meat probes.  I have been using wired probes for years.  This one on the 732 only lasted about six smokes.  If they don't get this fixed, they will be off the market.

Good luck and good smoking.
 

upinsmokesj

Newbie
8
10
Joined Jul 22, 2011
Just received my ET-732 about 1 week ago & I tried to use it this past weekend. This is what I wrote to Maverick:

Hello,

    I recently (within the last 1 1/2 weeks) bought a new ET-732. I am really impressed with it features and some reviews I have read. Yesterday, when I tried to use my unit I could never get it to "sync". I had both probes in the correct inputs. I bought new/fresh batteries (installed them). I turned on the receiver & then (about 3-4 secs later) turned on the transmitter. Unlike some reviews I had seen with video instructions that almost immediately both units started to display "room temp", mine had the --- display & then went to the HHH display. I never saw that satellite icon I am told I should see. This is new out of the box. I read in the Owners Instructions that came with my new unit that the HHH was a sign that the probe was bad. Well, both the meat & BBQ probes read HHH. I tried to make the unit work several times. In fact I left both units on with the HHH display for about 15 mins. hoping that it would work. I was a little worried when I first opened the box the way the probes were packaged. I was worried because of all that I had read about being careful not to pinch the wires (among other cautions mentioned). I could see flat spots in both probe wires.

  I really want to use this product. Is there a way I can get a new meat probe & a new BBQ temp probe? I really hope that Maverick can help me. Thank you for your time.

  I really like what I have read about the ET-732 and want to keep it & use it. So I guess I'll have to see what Maverick replies with. Again as I stated to Maverick, I was a little concerned about the probe wires when I opened the box. The flat spots in both probe wires.
 

socalbbq

Fire Starter
67
14
Joined Jun 4, 2011
I have had mine about 2 months and it works great, love the wireless feature.  It can be a little tricky to sync at times but once it has the signal it works well..
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
39,701
12,185
Joined Sep 12, 2009
I have trouble turning my 732 receiver unit on, no matter how hard I push the button.

This last time I tapped it on the counter & then pushed it-----came right on---Must be something loose????

Bear
 

flanntastic

Smoke Blower
84
10
Joined Dec 17, 2010
i had to replace the probes after 3 smokes, bought two new probes, i doubt i will get 4-5 smokes from them, any moisture screws them up
 

sqwib

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
5,963
1,025
Joined Sep 25, 2007
No problems yet for me.

For syncing issues, I have found powering off then on and holding the sync button for at least 5 seconds works.
 

navyjeremy

Meat Mopper
216
10
Joined Jun 27, 2008
The one time that I have used it it worked well.  Came in the other day along with the AMNS and smoked some cheese with it.  Have not done the boil test yet, guess that I should hit that up in the morning when I wake up, but for tonight it is Sailor Jerry, Coke and Lime.  No pics of the cheese as it was all destroyed by the kids.
 

upinsmokesj

Newbie
8
10
Joined Jul 22, 2011
No reply from Maverick from the EMail I sent. However, today the ET-732 works just fine. I took the good advise of installing fresh batteries. Turned on the receiver. Then the transmitter (probes were already plugged in) & baDaBoom, the unit sync'd & diplayed both meat & bbq temp (the room temp actually). So, so far so good. I want to thank the many kind folks who offered such good direction & help.

Quote:
Just received my ET-732 about 1 week ago & I tried to use it this past weekend. This is what I wrote to Maverick:

Hello,

    I recently (within the last 1 1/2 weeks) bought a new ET-732. I am really impressed with it features and some reviews I have read. Yesterday, when I tried to use my unit I could never get it to "sync". I had both probes in the correct inputs. I bought new/fresh batteries (installed them). I turned on the receiver & then (about 3-4 secs later) turned on the transmitter. Unlike some reviews I had seen with video instructions that almost immediately both units started to display "room temp", mine had the --- display & then went to the HHH display. I never saw that satellite icon I am told I should see. This is new out of the box. I read in the Owners Instructions that came with my new unit that the HHH was a sign that the probe was bad. Well, both the meat & BBQ probes read HHH. I tried to make the unit work several times. In fact I left both units on with the HHH display for about 15 mins. hoping that it would work. I was a little worried when I first opened the box the way the probes were packaged. I was worried because of all that I had read about being careful not to pinch the wires (among other cautions mentioned). I could see flat spots in both probe wires.

  I really want to use this product. Is there a way I can get a new meat probe & a new BBQ temp probe? I really hope that Maverick can help me. Thank you for your time.

  I really like what I have read about the ET-732 and want to keep it & use it. So I guess I'll have to see what Maverick replies with. Again as I stated to Maverick, I was a little concerned about the probe wires when I opened the box. The flat spots in both probe wires.
 

tjohnson

Smoking Guru
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Insider
5,600
139
Joined Dec 29, 2009
YEEEE HA!

Those cheap Chinese batteries

Todd
 

tromaron

Meat Mopper
192
13
Joined Feb 1, 2011
Overall I've loved mine.  Did have the BBQ probe take a crap after about 4 weeks.  Started bouncing between LLL, 60º, & 250º.  Called customer service and they said to send it in & they'd replace it.  Just haven't gotten around to sending it in yet.  One odd thing is that with new batteries it still loses signal fairly regularly around 60' away in my fairly open floor plan house.  Not a big deal but I could do without the lost signal beeping when I'm trying to get a few hours sleep on overnight smokes.
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
39,701
12,185
Joined Sep 12, 2009
Overall I've loved mine.  Did have the BBQ probe take a crap after about 4 weeks.  Started bouncing between LLL, 60º, & 250º.  Called customer service and they said to send it in & they'd replace it.  Just haven't gotten around to sending it in yet.  One odd thing is that with new batteries it still loses signal fairly regularly around 60' away in my fairly open floor plan house.  Not a big deal but I could do without the lost signal beeping when I'm trying to get a few hours sleep on overnight smokes.
Ron,

Did you try just moving it a few feet in one direction or another?

I keep my old ET-73 monitoring my basement meat fridge 24/7.

If I set the receiver on the hutch, in the Dining Room, it loses signal.

If I move it 3 feet away to the Dining Room Table, it never loses signal.

I figure there is something in between the transmitter & receiver at various places that causes that.

I also have to be careful where I put that Darn thing, because Smokey (cat) thinks it's another toy!!!!

Bear
 

tromaron

Meat Mopper
192
13
Joined Feb 1, 2011
Bear - Haven't tried that yet.  I'll give it a shot.  Thanks!
 
Last edited:

upinsmokesj

Newbie
8
10
Joined Jul 22, 2011
YEEEE HA!

Those cheap Chinese batteries

Todd
Thanks to you, Todd. You were especially helpful. Being new here, do you sell any other BBQ/Smoke equipment? If so, where can I see your equipment for my future reference?
 
 

Latest posts

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.