How to buy wood ?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Smokin Okie

Master of the Pit
Original poster
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Jun 27, 2018
Oklahoma City
I'm new to stick burning and sourcing wood is a whole new game. Right now, I'm using Craigslist. And there's two sales lots who always have a post on CL.

This one does not say in his post how much ya get for each price. But I believe what ya see in the pic, between the fence posts, is the $30 option. These splits are about 8"to 10" long, which is a good size for my Old Country Brazos, they are ready to go in the firebox ...

https://oklahomacity.craigslist.org/for/d/open-till-9pm-lake-bbq/6632071752.html

But there's another lot that sells splits that are 18" to 20" long. Which are too long for my firebox and larger than I want to burn. It would take some work for me to cut these in half, then split them again with my Kindling Cracker. But I'm wondering if this is the better value, since I will have some sweat equity in the woodpile .

https://oklahomacity.craigslist.org/grd/6605885692.html

I've purchased from the first link twice, but I'm looking for ways to cut my wood cost down. This seems to be just a shot in the dark to me, right now. It appears being able to eyeball a stack of wood and have some idea how much is there, is a skill to be learned.

Last edited:
Might be worth buying fromt he second guy one time to see if its worth your time and labor. My time is money, I am always opting for an easier route haha.

you should be able to buy Pecan most anywhere East of OKC.. probably the best wood going for mild smoke