Help info

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Warren1989

Original poster
Sep 18, 2018
Hi all I’m new to the whole dry curing and air drying thing. I’m building my own curing chamber right now to begin air drying my salamis. I need a bit of help on how to calculate the time for dry curing meat cuts like guanciale,coppa,bresaola.... How long do you leave them in the dry cure mix please? Is there any ratio to the weight of the meat please? Thanks

May I suggest you get this book... It covers alot of stuff... I have it and use it frequently... Good stuff... Make sure it's the newest updated version.. Several errors were corrected... My version has +/- 700 pages...

Marianski 1.jpg

Last edited:
Reactions: zwiller
With these long term dried/fermented sausage, I strongly get a book to have on hand. Even the best knowledge on these forums will never beat having a book at hand when you get worried.

That said, I hope Neppas pops into this thread.

May I suggest you get this book... It covers alot of stuff... I have it and use it frequently... Good stuff... Make sure it's the newest updated version.. Several errors were corrected... My version has +/- 700 pages...

View attachment 376480
I’m finding different publication dates. Do you have any link to the new version please?

Don't dry by a calendar you dry by a scale.