Had to freeze soppresota before fermentation

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

TStep

Original poster
Mar 17, 2019
Hello, New to the forum but have lurked over the years. Great forum you have.

To the question at hand. Making soppresota using 2.75% salt, cure #2, and bactoferm f-lc feeding on 0.75% dextrose producing lactic acid as the preservative measure. Then intend on fermenting and air drying to finish.

Ground and stuffed yesterday, but had to freeze due to unforeseen circumstances. So the sausage was made and frozen prior to the fermentation stage of 98 degrees for 30-40 hrs controlled via sous vide.

I'm new to the bactoferm F-LC. Are there any issues with the intermediate freeze in the middle of the process? Everything I have read on the culture is that it will just go inactive under 59 degrees, but refreezing is not specifically mentioned.

Anyone know for sure that the F-LC culture will restart itself and perform as expected?

Have you inoculated already with culture? If yes, the culture already started working...then stopped when you froze the meat. I dont think it will restart after freezing. Either way, in my opinion, is safe to (re) inoculate after you thaw the meat.

Yes, culture was mixed into the meat dissolved in distilled water and dextrose as a food source, then frozen. The question is now will the culture restart when temp raised to the 98 degrees suggested for fermentation and lactic acid production. Reintroduction of culture is not possible since it is mixed throughout the soppresota.

Got it. I missed the "stuffed" keyword.