• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Gas or Electric?

pappapig

Smoke Blower
148
13
Joined Aug 23, 2012
Just looking for pros and cons on propane vs a pid controlled electric setup for a house I'm building.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
 

daveomak

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
25,338
2,957
Joined Nov 12, 2010
A good PID will ramp temps up and down.....  You can't do that with propane without an expensive modulating valve and components....  

Electric is safer, in my opinion...   

Dave
 

JckDanls 07

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
Group Lead
5,618
391
Joined Sep 10, 2011
Pappa... I am in the middle of building one as well... made a pipe burner (propane) and have been playing with that for the last week os so.... I got tired of the flame going out and the gas still pumping into the smoke house essentially building a big bomb of unlit propane... So 2 nights ago I pulled the trigger and ordered everything to make it electric.... Thanks to Dave and his build... http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/t/140513/daves-smokehouse-part-9-test-runs

as well as Tim and his build.... http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/t/149279/sausage-maker-electric-build

so yea.. electric was my choice for safety and ease of use...

of coarse with the AMNPS that is
 
Last edited:

pappapig

Smoke Blower
148
13
Joined Aug 23, 2012
Thanks guys, definitely going
With amnps, was leaning electric, think I'll go that way for sure now

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
 

zootalaws

Newbie
26
10
Joined Oct 21, 2013
AMNPS?

I am more electronic than gas fitter, so a PID-controlled box was definitely top of my list.

I have seen a PID kit that includes PID, solenoid and probe - is that pretty much it? I already have a 1500W electric hot plate which I don't need - just bought a new 85" oven/range. I am guessing all I do is remove the wall plug and wire it to the relay, the PID controls the temp according to your settings?

Any special considerations for the placement of the hotplate? I have a galvanised-tin lined plywood smoker box. I will make sure the tin chassis is earthed.
 

daveomak

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
25,338
2,957
Joined Nov 12, 2010
 
AMNPS?       http://www.amazenproducts.com/

I am more electronic than gas fitter, so a PID-controlled box was definitely top of my list.

I have seen a PID kit that includes PID, solenoid and probe - is that pretty much it?

I already have a 1500W electric hot plate which I don't need -  I am guessing all I do is remove the wall plug and wire it to the relay, the PID controls the temp according to your settings?

Zoot, morning......   electric hot plates have an "over temp" device to keep from melting the case....   The element needs to be removed from the mounting, and the over temp "snap switch", or what ever they use, needs to be removed also.... then a suitable mounting plate needs to be built to mount the element to.... 

Any special considerations for the placement of the hotplate? I have a galvanised-tin lined plywood smoker box.

If the galvanizing gets hot, it produces a poisonous "gas"....  I don't recommend using galvanized anything in a smoker...  

I will make sure the tin chassis is earthed.
 

zootalaws

Newbie
26
10
Joined Oct 21, 2013
Good call, Dave. I was only going to cold smoke, which galv would have been fine for, but with hot smoking, I will need to find something else. 

Someone did mention heavy foil - the kind they make the big roasting trays out of. But, this is the wild west of Asia and nothing is easy here.

My hot plate is stainless steel and cast alloy for the plate, but I will hunt around inside and see if I can find a thermistor.

Thanks, very helpful. Just as well I haven't assembled it already :)
 

pappapig

Smoke Blower
148
13
Joined Aug 23, 2012
AMNPS?



I am more electronic than gas fitter, so a PID-controlled box was definitely top of my list.



I have seen a PID kit that includes PID, solenoid and probe - is that pretty much it? I already have a 1500W electric hot plate which I don't need - just bought a new 85" oven/range. I am guessing all I do is remove the wall plug and wire it to the relay, the PID controls the temp according to your settings?



Any special considerations for the placement of the hotplate? I have a galvanised-tin lined plywood smoker box. I will make sure the tin chassis is earthed.
If you haven't, you should look into Auberin's products, reasonably priced and good quality. I'm fortunate in that I I'm a field service tech for food service equipment, so I have SSR's and contactors laying around.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
 

zootalaws

Newbie
26
10
Joined Oct 21, 2013
I've looked at Auberins' stuff and most of it handles 240V. But it aint cheap, when I can get a PID, SSR and K-probe for $25 locally.
 

Latest posts

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.